Why Copenhagen?

Since I’ll be arriving in Copenhagen in less than a week, I thought I’d answer the question I get every time I say I’m studying abroad in Copenhagen.

Why Copenhagen?

The answer to that is not as simple as it seems.  Picking Copenhagen came with a lot of google searches and limitations.  It starts with narrowing down where, I’ve always wanted to study abroad in Europe.  I have only heard amazing stories from my mother, sister and friends about their adventures in Europe. As well as because of the easy access to travel within Europe.  Then came the academics of studying abroad.

Being a biology major with post graduate hopes of going to medical or PA school, I had to limit myself to programs that would optimize my medical exposure. Along with the requirements of being a Biology major at Bucknell, I needed to be able to take a 300 level biology class abroad.

The Danish Institute for Study Abroad (DIS) was recommended to me by my study abroad advisor and was always one of the top choices when looking in a search engine. Once I saw the classes offered, specifically the Medical Practice and Policy core class, the travel included with the classes and knowing I can take Epigenetic and the Environment as a 300 level biology, I knew that Copenhagen was the place for me.

Knowing I would be studying abroad in Copenhagen, my recent research of Denmark made me realized how much more it has to offer beyond my academic needs.  Denmark is incredibly forward; Denmark has high taxes but free health care and free education. With that I’m taking a public health class to learn more about healthcare abroad. It is also incredibly green with a large portion of their energy coming from wind farms. Which I hope to learn a lot about from my Host Father who works for DONG energy. And, Danes are considered the happiest people in the planet, so I can’t see any reasons not to pick Copenhagen!

Four days until I’m actually there!

 

Leave a Reply

