American Food for a Danish Family

In my host family, I want to participate is as much as possible, and this includes the same responsibilities that the children have, and this includes cooking.  At least once a week one of the kids helps or prepares a meal of their choosing.  Since I enjoy cooking, I thought I’d offer up to cook not once but twice this week.

On Tuesday, I decided to make a staple in my household using staples from this household. Pork chops, potatoes, and carrots.  Pork is one of the biggest exports of Denmark, so I knew it would be easy to obtain, and my host brothers absolutely LOVE ketchup, they put it on literally everything; pasta, lasagna, pizza, everything. So, I decided to make one of my favorite pork chop dishes, pork chops with a ketchup and brown sugar glaze, very appetizing despite what you may think.  Then, baked potatoes, my favorite way of eating potatoes, and carrots, another food that we’ve had at most meals here but with honey on them, because plain carrots are simply too boring.


Although I was terrified I wouldn’t cook the pork chops enough, or cook the potatoes too much and I had to open roughly every drawer to find everything I needed, my meal turned out to be a success! My family (and Sophie who came over for my lovely dinner) loved it, and there weren’t any leftovers!

The next meal I made for my family was true American pancakes! After a Soborg luncheon with the other host families of the area, I learned that Danes call what we would call crepes, pancakes, so naturally I had to show them a true pancake.  So Sunday morning, I woke up a little earlier than the rest (10am so not actually early) and prepared your typical American pancakes, although it was a little difficult since my host mom had no clue what a ‘cup’ was and I had to convert everything to grams and milliliters, and bisquick wasn’t an option either. But 30 pancakes later (half chocolate chip, half plain) my family was awake and ready to try them, and again loved them, my host sister even just had one for an early dessert!


Although everyone, and every culture creates their own means of eating the same food; for example here they put shredded lettuce on top of their pizza and then cut it with a knife and fork, or my host brother slathered on nutella on his already choclatey pancakes, it is important to try new things, no matter how weird, the pork liver paste that my host sister loves, or gross, pickled haddock, it may be.

Keep Eating

xoxo

Margaret

1 thought on “American Food for a Danish Family”

Leave a Reply

