Valentine’s Day in Copenhagen

To be honest, this has nothing to do with Valentine’s Day other than it’s a label to the day I spent an evening at the theatre.  Although it may sound incredibly romantic, with no boyfriends in my life, I spent my V-Day with my Danish Language and Culture Class at the theatre. This was true cultural and language immersion because the entire play was in Danish, but luckily an app was recently created that translated the entire play.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.11.27 AM.png

This play was a comedy about politics, much of which made fun of them and in particular US politics.  Although there are still parts I’m very confused about as the translating app wasn’t perfect, and it was hard to look at my phone and the play at the same, there were definitely things I did completely understand.  Hard hits at Danish politics as well as Trump and Bush for Americans, despite the time period of the actual play being in the 1700’s.  I just found the experience extremely interesting because it showed how important (and comical) American politics are to foreign countries.  I mean let’s be real, Americans could never joke about Danish politics because they don’t pay attention to it. The experience overall was very interesting, and it provided me with a true Danish cultural event, even though my professor had to explain half of it to us over wine during intermission.

the-little-mermaid-copenhagen-the-little-mermaid-andersen-2763876-1656-1242

The rest of my day was also slightly eventful, I did one of the top things you’re supposed to do, see the little mermaid. And as everyone who’s been there will tell you, it is completely underwhelming. It is a simple statue depicting Hans Christian Andersen’s fairytale, The Little Mermaid. Although it wasn’t that exciting, it was not too far from where I needed to be later in the day and for once it was a beautiful day in Copenhagen so I had a nice walk through the city, which really makes me appreciate how beautiful Copenhagen is!

 

1 thought on “Valentine’s Day in Copenhagen”

Leave a Reply

